Range of RTCM using RTK Here+ GNSS?

Hi,

I am using a hexacopter with HexAero Pixhawk 2.1 with RTK Here+ GNSS-modules. Anyone know the range between base- and copter-GNSS-modules? They are using RTCM-protocol for update.

/MickeM

Hi,

I have no experience with here+ but what I was told is that single frequency gnss isn’t good for corrections over 10-15 km as it can’t account for atmospheric differences between the satellites and rover/base.
That doesn’t mean that it’s bad or doesn’t do anything, but it means you won’t get as good results as you get with multi frequency gnss.
If you need very long range the better option would be either use CORS or multifrequency gnss

If you are asking what the range is on the correction signal, then as far as your telemetry radio’s is.

Its not the Pixhawk Telemetry, that wouldnt work, too useless signal.
I mean the RTCM-signal from copter-GNSS to base-GNSS.
See picture:

Anyone have any information on that Standard RTCM Stream? =)

not sure what system you are using, but most of these rely on the standard telemetry link between the GCS and the drone or have their own dedicated 915mhz (in the states) link. Either way your range is limited by the link between your base or gcs and the drone.

Do you need RTK accurately position your drone or are you using RTk to GEOTAG?

Using 433MHz telemetry (Eruope) between the HexAero/ProfiCNC Pixhawk 2.1 and the laptop with Mission Planner.
And using the RTK Here+ http://www.proficnc.com/system-kits/77-gps-module.html for geotagging the photos.
Using the groundstation on a spot that is accurately positioned.
I am not that used to this equipment yet, but it flies well and the photos are geotagged. I build and testfly, another person uses it.
I have understand that the RTCM protocol between the antenna on the multicopter/plane talks with the antenna on the ground. I dont know the distance it can handle. Not using PPK, so the signal needs to be good.