Question: how to get rid of RC controller?

I am new to this.
I have x9d+, it is big.
could we just use our phone to control the pixhawk and get rid of the rc controller?
I know tower app, but it does not have a joystick.

anyone know how, and what app?
any DIY project like this?

Hello,

With QgroundControl you can have virtual joystick. But real Rc joystick are much better that gamepad and phone screen. You can have switch button and the feelling of real joystick and button is much better than virtual ones.

Are you nuts?

It’s obvious you are new at all of this and you’re looking for an easy way out so you can get immediate gratification. Ain’t gonna happen.

The truth of the matter is, before you can even begin to think about using a ground control station to control the aircraft you MUST FLIGHT TEST THE AIRCRAFT AND PROVE THAT IT IS SAFE TO FLY, AND TO DO THIS YOU MUST USE YOUR TARANIS.

We’re not playing Call of Duty on an Xbox here, this is the real deal, and if you screw up people can get hurt…

1 Like

Please be polite and respecfull.
Yes, rc radio are highly recommanded for starter but we aren’t doing all the same thing with our drone. I personnaly never used a rc radio and flight plenty time…

I (politely and respectfully) agree with @OldGazer. If you are a new flyer, as indicated in the initial post:

then I agree you MUST flight-test the aircraft in manual mode, with a standard transmitter, to verify flight-worthiness before attempting any other type of control approach.

I never said we were all doing the same thing.

However, to just pat a beginner on the head and say, “You go right ahead, you’ll be fine,” is lazy, negligent, and disingenuous.

I am a firm believer in SAFELY doing EVERYTHING, because “Safety is NO accident.” If I see that someone is going to do something that is unsafe I will be neither polite nor respectful because I’d rather have them mad and alive than cold and dead.