Question about VTOL

Pondering the build of a VTOL and started to wonder.
Do I need a pitot. I ask because a VTOL with a puller config would possibly have the pitot being blown on from the prop and that might not be a good thing. So thought I would ask.

1 Like

Hi Ricky,

with a Pusher VTOL, it is best to mount the Pitot tube on the outside of a wing.

VTOL without airspeed sensor is possible, but I have little and no good experience with it: I had flown the small Z84 quad in the picture first without airspeed sensor a few times, but then installed one, because with a little more wind the first transition after the VTOL start by still very inaccurate airspeedestimation (which at the beginning rather corresponds to the groundspeed) goes easily wrong. My not very fast Z84 did not complete the transition against heavy wind, in wind direction I have not tried of course. Even if it is more effort, I recommend the airspeed sensor on the VTOL. After takeoff you can fly off in all directions, even in wind direction. Q_ASSIST works more accurately in any case. Correctly set, in- and outboundtransitions work without loss of altitude, so that you can switch between airplane and hover at lowest altitude.

Rolf

1 Like

Hi thanks for that I have just fitted a Air Speed sensor on my Heewing VTOL still to calibrate it next thing after plane tuneing,may I ask for a rough guide as to what to set air speed assistance please

Hey Rolf.
As always I appreciate your input. I will take your advice and see about the Pitot being on the wing.

Cheers

Marty nice to see your still in the game.

thanks guys.

1 Like

Hi Richard,hopeyou and family are all well.yea im just pottering about trying to keep old age at bay

VTOL speed settings should be clear:

Before the first flight set ARSPD_FBW_MIN to stallspeed + a safety margin, e.g. 10 m/s + 20% = 12 m/s.
Set Q_ASSIST_SPEED lower than ARSPD_FBW_MIN , but not lower than stallspeed. So in the above example e.g. 10,5 m/s