Problems with two wheel skid steering on APM 2.6

Let me give you guys a little history about my project. We are currently using an AP 2.6 hooked up to a 2x60 sabertooth module on a wheelchair. After some trial and error we have gotten the wheelchair to run in mixed mode similar to the way that it looks like you guys have that machine set up. Elevators and Ailerons on the right stick (I’m a NOOB so…) anyways…. we’ve got it functioning correctly when moving at speed however we are unable to get it to do a zero speed turn in steering mode…the bot is not responding. If we give it a little forward motion it turns fine but is unable to do so from a standstill. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Here are my PID values:

steer2srv_
P= .7
I= .0
D= .2

@corpsmanup1982,
Can you get it to zero speed turn when in the Manual Mode. If you cannot, then it won’t do it in the Steering Mode either.
I assume that you have the Sabertooth ESC setup as two independent motor controllers and SKID_STEER_OUT is 0 and SKID_STEER_IN is 1 assuming you are using an R/C transmitter/receiver to control the wheel chair.
Also, what are your SPEED2_THR P, I, and D, your Cruise_Speed, and Cruise_Throttle?
Regards,
TCIII ArduRover2 Developer

Thank you for the reply TCIII; I really appreciate it! We have gotten steering mode working correctly but now we are having problems with auto mode. Our problem is that it just seems to take off in a random direction every time. SOmetimes to the left, sometimes to the right, sometimes to the left. We re-calibrated the compass (not an easy task wince the bot weighs about 80 pounds :slight_smile: 3 times and are still getting random actions when we place the bot in auto mode. She functions perfectly well on steering and manual modes. We have the roll set at 180 degrees because we are using the external ublox compass (sat lock averages at about 10 units.) I appreciate anything you can offer and thanks again for your reply; it was very helpful!

@corpsmanup1982,