Preparing for Autonomous Takeoff and Landing with TradHeli

Hey there…

So, with help from the Wiki, the tuning guide, and @Leonardthall I’ve got my 700E flying very well in AltHold, Stab, Loiter, and Auto. I’ve got Auto missions running at 25m/s very well now with a head speed of I think ~1800rpm.

I am hoping for some pointers, gotchas, things to look at and things to expect when it comes time to do an Auto mission from start to finish, rather than taking off and recovering myself. I’m happy to provide my latest log if someone wants to have a look, but any comments in general on things to just sort of “double check” before I attempt these things would be very helpful and appreciated. I’m running latest release of ArduCopter, btw, not the L1 branch that looks very exciting.

Thanks in advance!

edit: I should have mentioned, I’ve got plenty of experience in Auto with Plane and Copter, this is merely my first dive in to full auto with Heli.

Hi Josh! @Leonardthall had told me that he was working with you to tune your Heli. I would be interested in seeing your param file and a log file with stabilize and loiter.

I don’t have anything specific regarding issues with auto takeoff and landing. Do your run up in stabilize and wait for the run-up timer to complete. However it should not allow you to change into auto until run-up is complete. Just remember in stabilize that the integrator is working and the ghost is released once you flip your throttle hold switch off. So any input you make into the cyclic on the ground will try to make the aircraft seek that new attitude.
That’s all I have. I’m sure there’s others that are more experienced with auto takeoff and landings than I am and may have some nuggets of wisdom.

Hey Bill, thanks for your reply!

So, here is my log file: 00000055.BIN

and here is my param file: 00000055.BIN.param (14.5 KB)