Position hold doesn't work, navigation works well

Hi,
when I upload a mission, the drone navigates well according to the waypoints, but when switching to pos-hold, the drone just drifts away. It shows in the mission planner that the drone is in pos-hold, and the change in throttle is noticable, however, the XY position feels just like in stabilize. Anyone encountered this issue?

Thanks!

My first guess would be that one of your yaw/pitch/roll sticks is outside of the deadzone while in neutral position. Check your trim tabs and use Mission Planner to see what PWM’s the flight controller is receiving to make sure it is near RCx_TRIM parameter.

Otherwise, upload a flight log here and we can take a look at what the drone is doing.

You will need to post a log file for anyone to determine what might be happening

Hi,
Thanks for the reply!
I am new to this so I just found out about the data logs.
I can see in the logs that when I switch to pos-hold I get the following error:
Error flight mode-16.
What does that mean?

I should also mention that this is not a consistent behaviour - today I flew the drone and it entered pos-hold and worked just fine…

Ah, that would explain why your PosHold didn’t work.

The EKF is the algorithm that the flight controller uses to fuse sensor readings to estimate the drone’s state, including attitude and position. The EKF_CHECK-2 error means that the EKF cannot create a sufficiently reliable estimate, and so it refuses to switch to PosHold mode, which is the FLIGHT_MODE-16 error. If you have a buzzer equipped, you should have heard a unique beep that means that the flight mode switch has failed. You can see at the bottom of the graph that the drone never left Stabilize mode.

Later, the EKF error is cleared (EKF_CHECK-0). If you tried switching to PosHold after that point, it would have worked.