Please help diagnose a crash in Loiter

Hi chaps,
I’m new to this, so please bear with me. I’ve been flying 3.1 in Stabilize mode on a new frame for a while, and all good. Today I wanted to start the Auto modes. I went out, tried Alt Hold first and I was as happy as could be for a first attempt. Then I tried Loiter. Before I flew I checked the HUD and it showed 8 satelites and a good 3d fix. As soon as I put it into Loiter it took off fast to the left/roll, I managed to save it by going back into stabilize and got it to land (hard). I checked the telemetry, and it still had lock, but the next time I tried it crashed again, same scenario.
I’m new to checking logs, have done what I can according to the wiki page. I had previously done vibration and compassmot checks, and they seemed good. When I look at the logs now, and graph visible satelites, it shows 0 (or otherwise I’m interpreting them incorrectly)
Please can someone give me an idea where to start. Do I have my compass orientation wrong?
Thank you,
Pete

do you have the .log file as well?

Hi Mark,
I’m hoping the one I’ve attached below is the correct one you’re asking for.
Thanks, Pete

Hi Pete,

Looks like you may not have had a good 3d lock. I looked at your log files and the HDOP never went below 2.2. Actually during the flight it slowly worked its way up to 2.28. You want to shoot for a HDOP of less than 2. My guess is you need to get the gps antenna higher up. What is your current setup?

I had the same issue on my first tricopter. When in loiter or Auto it would just fly off straight in the wrong direction. I had to get the gps antenna up and away from everything. I also had to wrap my gopro in foil to help reduce the interference.

[quote=“renoflash”]Hi Pete,