Pixhawk, PPM module and RC receiver power up issue

I’m new to Ardupilot and this is my first post.

I assemble a Quadcopter using a Pixhawk 2.4.8, safety switch, PPM module, NEO-M8N GPS, buzzer, AR620 remote controller receiver. Firmware Quadcopter 4.0.3

It is wired in the following fashion:

The PPM module is connected to the RC connector in the Pixhawk as follow:

There are 6 channels connected to the RC receiver (AR620) and connector for power and ground. The transmitter is a Spectrum Dx6e.

The issue that I’m experiencing is that when I power up the Pixhawk, it powers up the PPM encoder and the RC receiver but I can’t get any readings in the radio calibration dialog within the Mission Planner software. If I leave the Pixhawk power up and disconnect and re-connect PPM first and then the RC receiver everything works.

I would appreciate any suggestions or comments on how I could troubleshoot this issue.

Thank you

I am confused. Where and why are you using a PPM encoder?

If you have a your X8R connected to PixHawk “or” AR60 has no S-BUS output to my knowledge The servos “or” ESC (if building a quad) will connect to main out 1, to 4 etc of PixHawk not the X8R receiver. Also, when you connect the servos to the Pixhawk Main out pins, you need a provide +5V to the Main Out or Aux pins just at one place. If you are using ESC and they have a built in BEC then the ESC will provide +5V to the MAINOUT and AUX pins.

if your receiver is bind properly to the radio (green light on X8R), inside Mission planner the calibration should work just fine.

Elaborate your wiring more, where is this PPM encoder came into the picture? draw it on a piece of paper how you have wired everything.

He doesn’t have an X8R he has an AR620.

Which encoder do you have?

I know…I am trying to help him learn the difference between S-BUS and PWM connectivity. Apparently he is confused.

Pixhawk supports DSM, so you do not need a PWM to PPM encoder between the receiver and Pixhawk.