Pixhawk or APM2.6

Hello all,

I am new to multi rotors and actually have my first build items on order right now. The last thing I need to sort out is the flight controller and I have been very much drawn to APM:copter rather than the other offerings for a number of reasons:

1. I like open source in principal
  2. A boatload of functionality for reasonable money
  3. The strong community I have been following here while researching options.

I have a few questions that I hope can be answered (until I start building anyway!):

Is it fair to say that APM2.6 for multirotors has now effectively been surpassed by the introduction of the 32bit pixhawk and, if that is the case, is that the platform that a new entrant should go to due to the developers now placing their time and efforts into the development and improvement of that platform?

Is Arducopter on pixhawk as stable as on apm3.x?

Thanks and I hope to be able to contribute to this community with time?

Jim

PS I had this posted in DIYdrones but haven’'t had an answer so I thought I might also post here.

@Jamesmoc,
You can have instant Arducopter gratification now by buying an APM2.5/6, however the APM is just about at the end of life as far as available program memory goes. Therefore functional updates to the APM family firmware will be difficult for the developers.
If you are willing to wait for the Pixhawk (you can preorder) then you will be future proof for the foreseeable future.:slight_smile: This link will give you an idea of what the Pixhawk can do: http://www.diydrones.com/forum/categories/px4-and-pixhawk-hardware-1/listForCategory
Regards,
TCIII ArduRover2 Developer

Thanks TCIII

Just the kind of straight answer I was looking for, cheers.

What TC said :wink:

So wanted to ask this same question, Pixhawk or APM.26, so figured I’d revive this thread since it was a few months old and wanted to ask a bit more.