Pixhawk - for beginners?

I’ve always been interested in RC and have planned to buy myself an AR.Drone for quite some time. But now I realize that I would like to take one step further and actually get myself a “real” quad copter instead. After spending some time reading about RC quad copters I realize that Pixhawk is the thing I want. But being inexperienced (albeit 100% committed) and all, would you think Pixhawk is to advanced to begin with? I’m a senior software engineer with some experience of electronics. Less with mechatronics though.

My initial plan was to buy a Anycopter Quad 370 kit. It’s simple, fairly cheap and easy to work with. And then go for the Pixhawk together with suitable motors and props. Then, at a later point, upgrade the frame to something more robust. But still keeping the electronics as much as possible.

So, I guess there are two questions. Is it a bad or good idea to start with Pixhawk given that I’ll probably fly copters many years. And if Pixhawk is the way to go. How do I know if the Anycopter Quad 370 goes along with Pixhawk? And a third bonus question. How do I know which motors/props/batteries suits this setup best?

Cheers,

An similar issue has been handled already. Please use the forum search function before posting questions.

=> viewtopic.php?f=21&t=7371

As for your copter - Pixhawk can handle pretty much every copter - it’s just a matter of tuning.

Thanks! I’ve actually read that thread already. I was more curious to hear peoples personal opinion whether or not Pixhawk is suited for beginners. Pros/cons of choosing something simpler/cheaper to begin with.

As I wrote in the other thread - with patience, discipline and reading the docs, Pixhawk is pretty easy.
It depends what you want. If flying around is enough for you, get a KK board for $20 from Hobby King.