Pixhawk does not use external compass

We are using a Pixhawk 2.4.8 with a 3DR compass. Mission Planner will not register that we are using an external compass. It uses an external GPS to locate the boat, but uses the compass from the Pixhawk. We tried modifying the compass settings:

I’m no expert but did you try these settings?
How about checking your COMPASS_ params in MP?
COMPASS

Maybe you can tell me how you calibrated your compasses?

Hello,

Thank you for replying.

When we suspected that the Pixhawk was using its internal compass, we disabled all compasses and individually went through Compass #1, Compass #2, and Compass #3. In all compass settings, only the Pixhawk compass was detected.
These are our compass parameters:
COMPASS_EXTERNAL: 1
COMPASS_EXTERN2: 0
COMPASS_EXTERN3: 0
COMPASS_USE: 1
COMPASS_USE2: 0
COMPASS_USE3: 0
COMPASS_ORIENT: 0
COMPASS_ORIENT2: 0
COMPASS_ORIENT3: 0

Mission Planner no longer has live calibration, only onboard calibration. When we started the onboard calibration, nothing happened.

I’m having the same issue with “calibration required” error message. How do I calibrate?

Xistrik,

I think it is most likely a hardware issue (compass is broken or wires are not connected correctly) rather than a configuration issue I think.

Can I ask how you know the external compass isn’t working? The heading is derived from the gyros, compass and GPS (if the vehicle is moving) so it’s not always possible to be sure just by looking at the heading displayed in the ground station. A more direct method is to look at the raw sensor output. If you’re using the Mission Planner, these can be seen by going to the Flight Data screen’s status tab (bottom left) and then check the mx, my, mz and magfield values. There are equivalent fields for the 2nd and 3rd compass as well (if present).

Hello,