Pixhawk 2.4.8 - unstable hexacopter

So, I am a newbie and I just built a hexa with 6s and 360 kv motors.
While it flies well, in stable mode I constantly have to give inputs for it to not crash and to hover at a place, it feels like I am flying a heli with a gyro instead of a stable hexacopter.

I am attaching the log BIN here: Filebin | nmm963c3htg0nza9

if any of you can help me understand what is going on or if you can tell me what I should change to make it super stable, it would be very helpful!
Also, I would like to make my copter as stable as a DJI, is this possible at all?

Thanks!

That’s what Stabilize mode does. Stabilize Mode If you want to hold position and altitude use Loiter Mode. Read the Wiki for that also as there are parameters you can set.
Tuning is poor, the next step is to configure the Dynamic Notch filter then run Auto Tune. There are comprehensive Wiki’s for both. With that Flight Controller and no ESC telemetry use the Throttle based Notch filter.

Just work thru the the tuning process.

2 Likes

Stabilise is definitely a handful on some multirotors, but it is the go-to mode if something goes wrong - you have control.
AltHold plays much nicer with the throttle being a “fly higher / fly lower” action rather than bare-bones throttle.
Loiter is the sanitised GPS assisted mode that you would normally spend most of you time with. You can let go of the sticks and hold position against wind, or move precisely.
On your transmitter set a 3 position switch for Stabalise, AltHold, Loiter

I find it handy to set a channel and switch for killing the motors → RC13_OPTION,31 (channel 13 in my case)

For the next flights use AltHold
Try to have the hex hover for a while and just do some gentle pitch/roll/yaw movements.

Set these mostly to gather data, but it should help to smooth things out a bit too
INS_ACCEL_FILTER,10 (this should be the default value here, it will help)
INS_LOG_BAT_MASK,1 (gather data for the Harmonic Notch Filter)