Pivot Turn with Skid Steer enabled

I have been playing around with a skid steer SITL rover on current master and rover 3.2 . After a bit of reading in the forum I figured out the correct servo configuration and things generally work. But if I try to trigger a pivot turn (e.g. by doing a 90 degree turn), the rover does a turn with a rather large radius instead of turning on the spot as I would expect.

The config parameter PIVOT_TURN_ANGLE, which made this work on older versions, doesn’t seem to have any influence.

Am I missing some other config parameters to make the rover turn more aggressively?

Cheers,
Daniel

Do you mean pivot_turn in manual mode or in assisted modes (steering, auto, guided etc.)?
It should work in manual mode, but I think there might be a bug in the code preventing skid steer to work in the other modes. I am no expert, but as far as I understand the code, it does auto steering based on lateral acceleration (only?).
This only works while moving forward, which is fine for an ackermann steering vehicle, but forgets about the special case of a skid steering vehicle.

Thanks for the info. I was using guided mode.

After looking through the code I found the following condition that disables pivot steering in any kind of assisted mode (Steering.cpp, function use_pivot_steering):

// check cases where we clearly cannot use pivot steering
if (control_mode->is_autopilot_mode() || !g2.motors.have_skid_steering() || g.pivot_turn_angle <= 0) {
    pivot_steering_active = false;
    return false;
}

Removing the condition doesn’t seem work. It might be because throttle control is not aware of pivot turns.

Does anybody know if this is a bug or if pivot turns are not supported in autopilot modes by design?

Dev’s are working on it (I think that @khancyr) is expected that next beta will solve that issue.

It pass on master ! we will reach next beta soon, I hope

1 Like

Thanks for the info. I didn’t see the open pull request for skid steering.