Payload capability of DJI F450

Hi!

I am new to drones but I have read a lot of literature on the working and selection of components for custom made drones. I had a question particular to this drone kit: DJI F450. I wish to attach a roughly 1 kg or less payload (in addition to the drone’s own weight; including the frame,batteries and other components). I’ll be using 2210/920 kV DJI motors with 10’’ propellers. What max payload can this configuration for this drone kit allow me to carry?

If this is not possible, then can someone suggest me a cheap alternative drone(<$1000) that allows me a 1 kg payload with mission planner capabilities?

Regards.

1 Like

You’d be lucky to get 300 grams on an f550. It’s a pretty terrible and floppy frame too…

I’d try and find a second hand DJI s900 and replace the dji brain with a cube. That should get you 1kg if payload with around 15 mins endurance

If they can’t support the payload then how come people were able to lift this payload in the above videos?

If you already know the answer why asking?

Well I wanted to ask others’ opinion before buying the kit as I am a little skeptical about these kits

Ignore the videos. An F450 or F550 are not serious machines. They cannot lift those kinds of weights in a meaningful way unless you want 3 minute flight times. Trust me I build heavy lift F450s in the day. There is not enough space for payload either.

An S900 is the way to go. Cheap used.

If you are in the US, I have a heavy lift compact hex and a monster DJI E1200 powered quad that you can buy if you are interested. They were build for mapping.