NOOB UAV project for school!

Hello to all, I am currently a student in college and over heard a proffeser of mine having issues of fly away with DJI products while she is on expedition. So I suggested fixed wing, now she wants me try out a prototype. I am little familiar with standard plane uses, and have been playing with an old apm board. But I it can be so much more.
This is a direction I am leading in.
Eclipson 3d UAV airframe
Matek F722 wing
Ill need a camera to face forward and down.
and nothing else really special. taranis x9d and r9m and 2.4 ghz video.
I also need to be able to track telemtry from a laptop.

This is the interesting part. I need to be able to get about 10-15 mile range and 45min of flight time.
but has to work in -60F. The expedition is to nothern alaska in early spring. To track how far ice flows are off of the coast. I am working with venom power for battery advice and ideas.

I have a budget of about $1500 with the hopes of 2 aircraft, control and ground station.

Any advice.?