No manual control of flaps when servo output set for flaps

Hi,
I am fairly new to Arduplane - have been using Arducopter for a few years now, but have only been flying planes for a few months. So forgive me if i am missing something simple.

Up until now I have been manually controlling the flaps via a 3 way switch on my radio. But there have been a few occasions where I have forgotten to deploy them when needed. So I want to set them up to work automatically. But I am hitting a snag before I even start.

At the moment I have my flaps on channel 6, which in turn operates the servo 6 output on my f/c. For my manual control i found i had to set the servo 6 option to ‘Rc Pass Through’. If I set the option to Flaps i have no manual control. (unlike my ailerons, elevator and rudder - each of their servo options are set to the correct function - aileron, elevator and rudder. With those i still have both manual and auto control) But not so with the flaps, the only way i can get manual control is by setting the servo 6 output to rc pass through. And of course then i cannot set up automatic flaps.

I have the RC6 Option Param set to zero - ‘Do Nothing’. I tried setting it to 46 - ‘RC Override Enable’, but that made no difference.

It’s left me a little confused. Am i missing something simple? Any ideas on how to get both manual and auto control of flaps, would be very welcome.

I am using a Taranis X9D Plus
Matek F765 Wing F/C
Arduplane 4.1.0

Thanks,
Steve.

Hi Steve,

I don’t see you mention setting up your RC channel 6 option to “Flaps” (number 208).

See https://ardupilot.org/plane/docs/parameters.html#rc6-option-rc-input-option

Hope that helps
Sam

Hi Sam,