No heartbeat packets received: cannot connect to pixhawk 2

Dear forum members

I am new in this place but I hope you can help me. I built an octacopter and wanted to use the new pixhawk 2 “cube” flight controller. I have the latest “mission planner” installed but there is no way to connect to the board… I always get the “no heartbeat packets received” error after the PC tries to connect with the board… I have expereince with the first pixhawk and also with a 3DR solo. I am new to the “cube” but I have “some experience” with other similar boards.

I tried everything but there is no chance to connect or to upload the firmware. The SD card is in place, The ocnnection are OK. The funny thing is that IT HAD WORKED but after some days it stopped. Could I have “fried” the board? Is there anything that I can try?

In the video you can hear the startup sounds. Is it everything normal? I did not find many info on the internet regarding the new pixhawk :frowning:

You seem to have the ‘motor arm’ tone straight after boot.

Could you be stuck in an ESC calibration mode? Try disconnecting your receiver and seeing if the startup tones differ.

Thanks @_Matt.

I tried disconnecting the receiver but nothing has changed…
On the other hand side, it could be that the Pixhawk is somehow stuck in the ESC calibration procedure… I do not remember exactly where but I was in the set up screen when suddenly the pc refused to connect…
Is there any way toi “reset” the cube and start from scratch?

thanks

1 Like

Try booting whilst you hold the safety switch down. That may force it into a mode to allow you to re-flash the firmware. If not, the PH2 group on FB is very active with both users and the developers/designers/manufacturers. Try asking over there.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/pixhawk2/

2 Likes

Hi @_Matt

The Pixhawk does not have a safety switch (not with the here GPS at least…)
I placed the same “help request” in the Facebook group but no major ideas are coming… :frowning: