No GPS. H743 Wing V3 and a uBlox F9P

Hi Guys. Complete beginner here, sorry.

I have a uBlox F9P GPS configured to send out NMEA data on Tx1, which I have connected to Rx3 on the H743. In Mission Planner, I get No GPS.

On the uBlox GPS setup, should I be sending NMEA, RTCM3X, or both?
In Mission Planner, I have set up SERIAL3_OPTIONS to 0, and SERIAL3-PROTOCOL to 5. Both baud rates are the same. GPS_TYPE is 1 ( Auto ).

What have I missed? Its for a rover.

Thanks
Glenn

Reset to defaults in uCenter, save, and close.

Use auto configure (GPS_AUTO_CFG=1) and never open uCenter again.

But you likely have a wiring issue. Make sure GPS TX is connected to autopilot RX and vice versa.

1 Like

I’ve set up that uBlox to get RTK corrections from another uBlox at a fixed station, thats all working so dont want to clear all that setup out.
Checked the wiring with a cro, definitely getting serial data from the uBlox to Rx3 on the H743.

How are you getting RTCM3? Depending on how that’s being done, you can still let ArduPilot manage the config.

I promise it’s far easier to get the hell out of uCenter and let ArduPilot do the heavy lifting.

I’m afraid I probably lack the patience to attempt to talk another user through manual configuration.

Unfortunately it seams there is no easy way to reset the F9P to factory settings.
Couple of questions. I’ve read the FC will only try to read the GPS on startup, so I would need to power down/up after each change to see if it works? And is there a way to see if the FC can see data, any date, on a serial input?
My mission this weekend was to get at least the GPS working on this thing.

The rightmost gear icon in u-Center is a reset to defaults (appears in color when connected):

Yes, you need to reboot after making changes.

Thanks.

OK, reset the uBlox to defaults, and also reset the FC to defaults in Mission Planner.