No ESC telemetry on T-Motor F35A

Hello all,
I’m trying to build a wing using a Speedybee F405Wing and a T-Motor F35A. I have gotten most things to work except the ESC telemetry. I’ve tried everything to my knowledge (which isn’t much since I’m new to anything ArduPilot) and I’ve been though many threads that discuss ESC telemetry but nothing works.

Do any of you know what I’m missing of could try?

Speedybee F405Wing & T-Motor F35A.param (19.2 KB)

Man those Flight Controllers generate a lot of traffic on the forum.

The default configuration in the ESC firmware is good, nothing to change there.
I see you have configured on Serial5 so you are connected on the DJI connector? Did you try connecting to Serial4 and configuring that instead?

According to this thread SpeedyBee F405 Wing NO ESC TELEMETRY, the Speedybee F405 Wing seems to have a chronic problem with ESC telemetry…

Try the 4.6.0-dev version then? These things are more trouble than they are worth even at $40.

I have indeed tried to use other UARTs without succes…
I get why there is a lot of traffic, it has been anything but plug-and-play. Setting up everything took me a long time to troubleshoot why it didn’t work. But hey, the more I prod around, the more i learn :wink:

So, what i get from the other thread is that loading the custom hwdef file could fix the problem. But when I look in the hwdef in AP_HAL_ChibiOS: use standard FPV config for SpeedyBeeF405WING I see that HAL_WITH_ESC_TELEM is still set to 0, not like Pedro_Claro did and set it to 1. Is this right?

I thought you just had to use the Custom Firmware Builder. But V4.6.0-dev already has it enabled:

Tele

Ah yes, finally have telemetry! Updated to 4.6.0 and I get volts, amps and temp. Just some calibration needed.

Thanks for the help!

1 Like

You will want to update fairly regularly with a dev version. New things are added, tested by a few and changes made often.