Newbuild / 3.5.7 / Crash

Hey all,

In the process of building a TBS Discovery framed quad with the Pixhawk 2.4.8 hardware. I have limited knowledge and have dived in at the deep end. Yesterday I have a very brief ten or so minutes flying the drone on the stabilise and RTL mode. Both seemed to be flying fairly steady although there was just initial tests without any real flight stresses. Today, without adjusting anything, the craft refused to return home and ended up crashing. I have damaged a motor and possibly an esc. In any case, would a kind soul help me to try and understand the flight log info,. I am barely able to read the logs on APM planner, regardless or resolution,
and I certainly can make little sense of the data. Would be interested in any educated observations, before I chuck the dam thing and buy a RTF or NAzza lol.

Many thanks,

J

First you launched the craft before you had any GPS satellites received. W/o GPS lock it will not RTL of course. Graph Baro>Alt vs GPS>Nsats and see what I mean.

Secondly you have something going on with your Rc Inputs. All channels show the same wild swings/glithes in PWM value. I don’t know how this craft was flying. Graph RCIN>C1-C5 (AETR & Flight mode) to see for yourself.

Mate, thank you for taking the time to reply. Steep learning curve but the Sat side of things seems a little obvious when you point it out :slight_smile:

As for the inputs, I will attempt to have a look at the area you identified and see what its showing, although addressing this may present problems haha

Yip, it does look all over the shop, but again to the untrained eye, its means very little. Would you suggest this is a controller issue (Taranis x9d plus) or issue with receiver (Frsky X8r) ?

That’s usually a fairly bulletproof combination. Power looks OK. An intermittent fault between the Rx and FC maybe. Sbus out of X8R to RCIN on Pixhawk right? Check that lead maybe. Are you running OpenTx on the X9D?