Newbie struggling with Ardupilot setup

I’m new to Ardupilot, and have just installed 4.0.0 in a Pixhawk 2.4.8 in my 550 Hexcopter. I’ve had several years’ experience with iNav and Betaflight in Omnibus and SPRacing boards, but I’m struggling to get my head around Ardupilot setup in Mission Planner. My transmitter is Taranis, and my receiver is FrSky R-XSR.

I’ve got a battery monitor, safety switch, and GPS/compass connected, and they all seem to be working fine in the Mission Planner Flight Data screen. But I haven’t yet been able to arm the hex to test the motors: First I got the ‘RCxx trim less than minimum’ error message, and fixed that by editing all the RCxx parameters that were showing 874 to the correct value of 1500. Then there was the same message for RC8, which shows maximum 1500 and minimum 1499, so I set trim for that to 1500 and got rid of its error message.

Then I got a message Prearm: CHECK FS_THR_VALUE, and tried to fix it by going into the MP Initial Setup > Failsafe screen and changing the FS Pwm value. The Radio Failsafe section of the copter documentations says the FS Pwm value should be 10PWM higher than the value when the throttle stick is fully down with the transmitter off, and 10PWM lower than the value when the throttle stick is fully down with the transmitter on. But MP shows my minimum throttle is 984 with the transmitter on or off, though it goes down to 982 when I activate the throttle-kill switch on my transmitter. So what value should my FS Pwm be, please?

PS I’ve been able to run the motors by going into the parameters list and disabling the throttle failsafe, but I’d like it to be working.

1 Like

Have you done the radio calibration? Typically the lower limit is 1100 and upper is 1900. You can adjust those in your radio to hit those marks