Newbie AUTO/mission questions

I apologise if this is somewhere explained already. I am new to Ardu and I am just to wrap my head around it.

So let’s assume I program some mission before take off (no take off waypoint) and have the first waypoint somewhere randomly placed.

Now I take off using take off mode and I throw the plane. Then I go to FBWA mode start flying around randomly.

Then I switch to AUTO mode to start the mission and at point when I switch the AUTO mode my plane is 200m higher then first waypoint altitude, 30km/h slower or faster, going opposite direction of the first point and 1km away from the first point.

Will the plane turn towards the first point and adjust speed and altitude according the mission point? Are there any limitations on how to enter the mission plan once in the air?

I am specifically asking this as I plan to configure auto land and nothing else and then at some point in time during the flight I plan to activate AUTO mode and hope the plane goes to the first waypoint for landing and follow the plan until landing.

yes. it will do all those things you ask. that is my experience, anyways.
i haven’t noticed any limitations on how to enter. i have NOT tested the behavior of entering mission mode while at or close to the 1st waypoint at an extremely different height - don’t know if it will skip 1st WP and proceed to 2nd, or try to accomplish 1st WP after some maneuvering.

Disclaimer: the assumption is that the plane has GPS lock when it enters auto mode - and preferably before it arms. also, assuming all the other correct setups are made so that nothing would hinder auto mode from working correctly in any circumstance.