New user question (Don't all groan at once!)

Can anyone recommend a transmitter/receiver for use with (Still in build) an APM2.8. UK use.
Can anyone also tell me if it can be changed from mode 1 to mode 2 and vice versa? (I know that much)

At the moment I am still a complete novice.
As a suck it and see I bought a pocket drone a Hubsan which for the money, I thought absolutely great.This allowed me to learn some of the absolute basics (crashing)

I know I can’t ask for a complete shopping list, but think that the Ardupilot APM is a good start but what is compatible with it control wise.

There are a zillion APM2.8s for sale on Ebay and reputable suppliers but no mention of compatible receivers.

Currently reading as much as I can find, but as a novice, much of it seems contradictory and much is personal choice.

Anyone with any links to resources I would be happy to follow.
Thanks in adv I’ll will try not to be needy.
Thx, R.

Turnigy TGY https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-tgy-i6-afhds-transmitter-and-6ch-receiver-mode-2.html

FrSky Taranis if you can afford it, much more versatile and would allow you to grow if/when you move to better FC hardware (APMs can only run up to Copter 3.2.1, an old and unsupported version).

Of note, your question is sort of similar to “what first camera should I buy”. Opinions will vary :wink:

Hello,

If you have just a bit of sense, you should wonder why are there so much APM on sale.

Firmware dev for that card ended three years ago. Hardware base is 5 years old. Reputable suppliers are none. They are just sellers.

If you really want to join the ardupilot community and progress with us, you should look at the latest hardware on sale.

Marc

I’m a big fan of the Turnigy 9XR Pro, which at $60 is a great deal on a very capable transmitter. Thanks to the efforts of some community members it has an incredibly flexible firmware that includes excellent telemetry support.