Mission Planner Tab Reordering Recommendation

Hey All,

So I understand a “UI Overhaul” has been asked for in the past for many without any regard to how much work would be required for such changes. I would like to request one change that is not necessarily a change to the UI - but instead a reorganization of the pages that are already evident within Mission Planner. Now - I have NO experience with making GUIs and the effort that goes behind them - so I apologize if this post comes across as unappreciative of the work that goes into Mission Planner. Regardless - hopefully my recommendation will spark some conversation and can either be written off due to the amount of work or integrated in future Mission Planner versions.

Now to the actual post…

Over the past years we have continued to add several pages to the Setup and Configuration tabs on Mission Planner which (in my opinion) have lead to congested lists that are a bit confusing to new users. I believe re-naming the tabs and organizing the pages in a slightly different method may lead to better organization and hopefully lead to a better understanding of setting up an aircraft. I understand that any UI changes would require re-writes of certain documentation - and I would be completely open to helping out with this!

The Data and Plan tabs can stay exactly the same - no needs there.

However, I believe that the Setup and Configuration tabs should be retired and replaced with the following three tabs: Setup, Tuning, and Advanced.

Setup would remain mostly the same with two categories: Mandatory and Optional. Some pages (such as those under the Advanced category under the Setup page would be moved over to the new Advanced tab.

As per the Tuning tab, I think it would be best to break down the singular page called “Advanced Tuning” into separate pages under this tab. Some examples of pages could be the following:

• Initial Tuning
  • Notch Filtering
  • PID/Attitude
  • Flight Characteristics
  • FFT
  • etc.