Mavlink connection between Mission Planner and APM 2.6

Hello everyone,

I am a complete newbie to Arduino, programming, quadrocopters, this forum etc. but I received my APM 2.6 (external compass), uBlox GPS with Compass Kit, Radio Set (Frequency: 433 Mhz), APM Power Module with XT60 Connectors Kit, and MB1240 XL-MaxSonar-EZ4 High Performance Ultrasonic Range Finder from 3D Robotics a few days ago. I plan to use these for a quadrocopter project.
I haven’t built this kit into a frame yet but I have connected the peripherals to the APM 2.6 and have blutacked them into position in a shoe box lid for the moment (I’ll explain this bit later).

I am using a Windows 7 32 bit laptop, I’ve made sure that the COM Port and Baud Rate are assigned correctly (COM10 and 115200, respectively) and I’ve made sure that I am using the latest Mission Planner and AMP Planner software (1.2.94 build 1.1.5147.31144 and v2.0.0 [RC3], respectively). I also correctly installed the device driver software, manually, for the APM 2.6 so that it appears under the COM/Ports section in my Device Manager Suite.

During Initial Setup, the firmware installed from Mission Planner to my APM 2.6 no problem. I managed to get the Mavlink connection to work earlier but then the software wanted to calibrate the sensors on the APM 2.6.
At this point, I only had the peripherals connected to the APM 2.6 and I didn’t have anything to keep everything level and in the correct position for calibration. So I used Blutack and a shoe box lid to keep the components in a fixed position relative to each other, which would allow me to tilt the APM 2.6 on its side when told to do so by the calibration section.