Matek F405-VTOL in Heewing Ranger T-1

Hello. I’m running into issues while trying to calibrate my Matek F405 VTOL flight controller. Does anyone know of a work around for the following error…?

3/22/2023 1:45:27 AM : Config Error: fix problem then reboot
3/22/2023 1:45:25 AM : Config Error: INS: unable to initialise driver

Initially I was running into problems trying to do the initial sensor calibration so I wiped the board and loaded it with the latest arduplane_with_bl.hex file and now I’m getting this error when I connect via mission planner.
Any ideas?

What target did you install?

Sorry, this is my first build and first time setting up ArduPilot/Mission Planner. What’s a target?

I’m just wondering if you installaled the correct version of ArduPlane onto the board. It should be the Matek F405-TE firmware.

https://firmware.ardupilot.org/Plane/stable/MatekF405-TE/

1 Like

No. I just loaded the Matek F405. Let me try that…

Download the .apj from here and use the Load Custom Firmware buttom in MP to flash it as you already have the bootloader flashed.
F405-TE

Same link as @Allister posted.

YUP! That solved the issue.

But now I’m back to the problem of not being able to calibrate the sensors. When I lay it level to do the initial calibration I get “The Command failed to execute” Error.

I read somewhere that it may be exceeding its max pitch angle and that’s why I’m getting the error?

Is the board mounted in the plane yet or is it just on the bench?

Might be worth resetting everything and trying again. Have you changed the orientation of the board?

The board is already mounted in the plane. It was working last night before I installed it in the plane.

Also, I just realized I am loading my firmware with INAV Configurator, not custom firmware via mission planner like you guys have been saying.

But when I try to load it with Mission Planner, I get a no DFU driver message.