Low throttle in loiter takeoff, fast spinning rotors

Hi,

I am a developer and my graduation project (due next week :confused:) is to develop a autonomous quadcopter. I have based it on the APM2.6 and a beaglebone black with mavlink.

To test the stability of the quadcopter platform I tried loiter mode today.

I noticed some troubling behaviour in loiter mode. When I armed the APM2.6 in loiter mode and moved the throttle up slightly the motors started spinning fast. The throttle still was in the “go-down” part of the throttle in loiter mode.

This behaviour does not occur after first putting the throttle into the center (1500pwm) and then all the way down till the rotors stop spinning. When I then put the throttle slightly up the rotors won’t spin until I move the throttle past the center.

I expect that the latter behaviour is the correct one. So the rotors don’t spin until the throttle is above the center.

Is this something I can fix or is it a bug in the arducopter code?

Whilst only fairly new to this myself your description confuses me.

The ‘go down’ and start at high speed in particular, I’d expect your motors to start almost immediately at a low speed when you push the throttle forwards, by 50% the intent is to be at ‘hover’, higher than 50% climbs, lower than 50% which is not enough to sustain lift and it descends.

I take it that you calibrated everything appropriately - transmitter, transmitter / RC to copter, ESC’s if they can be.

Rotors not spinning until past 50% is not normal, I suspect that going back to basics by checking all cables & connections, calibration and tuning my reveal the cause.