Loiter - violent pitch or roll when in loiter mode

Hi,
When flying in loiter mode, the copter seems be fine. The problem when it sometimes drift and try to recover its initial position, it became to pitch or roll violently. I tried to analyze the log file but cannot see anything wrong. But I’m a beginner :wink:.
The copter flies fine in stabilize mode. Alt Hold is ok too, acro too.

Can anybody give me a clue of what’s wrong with my setup ?

I also double checked the compass calibration and re-entered declination. This does not make it fly better…

Please describe the copter. In particular, what GPS are you using?

Hi,
It’s a quadricopter using :

• ArduPilot Mega 2.5 Kit
  • GPS Options:MediaTek GPS]

Do you think it can come from the GPS ? Is there any way I can point it down in the log ?
Regards,

Unfortunately the MediaTek GPS is very poor. I strongly doubt you’d have these problems with a ublox.

Is there any way to be sure the problem is coming from a poor GPS ? The point is that I don’t want to buy another one if this does not solve the problem…

You may be able to get a smoother response by reducing your LOITER_P and LOITER_I gains. It could potentially help to increase INAV_XY_TC as well.

Warning: increasing INAV_XY_TC will cause the inertial navigation to be less stable. Increasing it too high will cause the copter to fly away - be ready to flip to stabilize. You need as close to perfect vibration and compass as possible for this.

You will never match the 3DR UBLOX’s performance with that GPS, though.

I have just installed the new framware on my pixhawk 2.4.8. After all initial set up my copter fly very nice in stabilize mode! But when I go to the Loiter mode It is aggressive and crashes. I have uploaded the logs of my two tests. I do appreciate any help or suggestion.
Frame: x-copter
FC: Pixhawk 2.4.8
Frameware version: ArduCopter 4.1.0 (ea559a56)
GPS: M8N

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YDMmv0nFBMZv5665ol2RP_GkZ1vE-m8X/view?usp=sharing