Log Crash Analysis Help

Hi All,

I have been flying a 3DR Solo and on my last flight I sent a mission to the drone and looked back up and it dropped out of the sky. This was only a few minutes into the flight and on a full battery. I am still pretty new to Mission Planner but didn’t see anything stand out on what may have caused the crash.

I posted this on the 3DR forums as well and have only gotten one response. Currently the thought is that the channel 3 motor pod may have failed based upon the RCIN vs RCOUT signal. It was a fairly windy day (20 mph winds) but I was trying to keep the travel speed under 15mph. Does anyone have time to take a quick look at the logs?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/a04po9r7hxczypl/2018-11-22%2015-50-21.zip?dl=0

Just trying to determine the root cause so I can avoid another crash in the future. Thank You!

1 Like

Your left rear motor failed to provide thrust.
You were flying Solo Firmware 1.3.1 - very old, dangerous ESC signal voltage level bug bit you.
Make sure to update to 1.5.4 at least. https://github.com/OpenSolo/ardupilot-solo/releases
( or current ArduCopter build - if you replace the cube, or modify your own with madhacker.org 5v mod)

The easiest way to upgrade to proper version is to run Solex (Android app) , and ask it to install OpenSolo (which fixes everything for you.)

1 Like

Thanks Andre. Can you expand a little more on how it failed to provide thrust? Was this a mechanical issue with the motor pod or are you saying the failure was caused by the firmware? Is the RCIN vs RCOUT graph what you used to determine this? I have another solo that I plan to move to and will definitely upgrade to the 1.5.4 firmware before flying next time.