Large rover PID tuning without RC

We are building a large rover (150kg aprrox). It is equipped with cube orange plus and here3+ gps and here+ rtk base as base station.

We followed the setup guide for rover and set every parameter as per our requirements. Rover is set up to do skid turn. We are facing problems in tuning the rover as we do not have a RC. We still set the PID gains by trail and error method but are not satisfied. Rover is wobbling after making a turn and sometimes it cant go straight even when compass heading and target heading are in the same direction. We want to tune it without RC in auto mode if possible.

You can use the Rover autotune Lua script (Tuning Process Instructions — Rover documentation) while running in CIRCLE mode.

I am actually new to mission planner so this might sound off to you but i just have to use circle mode and run this quick tune script ?

That’s right. You’ll need to read the quiktune instruction file (in the link in my previous post) to understand how to configure and run it.

EDIT:
Quiktune requires an RC controller to use, so that won’t work for you.

Are you using a joystick on your GCS to control the vehicle? Then the manual tuning steps would work - using MANUAL and ACRO modes to tune the PID controllers.

1 Like

Actually, you can use Mission Planner’s Actions tab to arm and change mode and then the Aux Functions tab to control the scripting aux function. Probably not a great way to start tuning from scratch, but it does work. I believe that’s actually how Randy developed it on SITL before moving to real world testing.

The “aux cached” binding is pretty powerful in that way.

1 Like

We are not using joy sticks. We use to directly run in auto mode after pre-arming checks and setting up the rover.

We will now try this first and then let you know also upload a bin file of tuning.