Issues with guided mode when GCS only

I am a beginner on Mission Planner (less than 3 months of user) but before i did my own fpv quad.
I’m student.
I have a project with my school to build an autonomous sailboat.

I bought a pixhawk pro (Pixhawk PRO Flight Controller with GPS and V5 500MW 433Mhz Telemetry Radio for Quadcopter Ardupilot - Free Shipping - ThanksBuyer)
and two servo motors (https://www.thanksbuyer.com/9imod-25kg-270-dc-motor-digital-servo-ip67-waterproof-servo-ds25mg-270-featuring-iron-core-motor-77144).

I want to use the sailboat without RC (in GCS only mode).

I followed the “first setup”, “first trip and adjustment”, “GCS operation only” and “sailing boat” pages in ardupilot.org.

Here is my mounting equipment:

The GPS works well, the compass too.
I mounted a 5V bec with an ESC that I had at home, but it’s just to supply power to the servos (as indicated in “Servo PWM”).

I set SERVO9_FUNCTION = 26 (Ground steering) and SERVO10_FUNCTION = 89 (MainSail).

Since I don’t (yet) have a weather vane I set WNDVN_TYPE=1 (Heading when armed).

What interests me is getting Guided mode to work. But when I right click and then “fly to here” nothing happens. I expected the rudder servo to start moving but it didn’t move.

So I tested lots of settings since it didn’t work, so I shown you my full parameter list here : full Parameter list Pixhawk pro sailboat : - Google Docs

Also i put the latest firmware (rover 4.5.1 OFFICIAL).

If you have any idea to solve my problem don’t hesitate, I take any advice.

Pablo C

Hi @Pablo_Cr,

I haven’t investigated this too much but you might want to set BRD_SAFETY_DEFLT = 0 to disable the safety switch completely (and then reboot the autopilot).

Make sure the vehicle is armed of course (you can do this from the Mission Planner actions tab).

I see you’ve modified the ARMING_CHECK parameter, normally that should be left at 1 and then look into any failures it throws when you try to arm.