Is this even possible !?

Hello all,

I am working on manufacturing my quad-copter from scratch. I bought a Raspberry PI 2, Raspberry Camera, MPU9150, system identification set, motors, etc…

I actually succeeded to get data from the MPU and also I finished the Motor identification using Matlab and I got the PID constants.

Now, it is Quad-copter modelling time :frowning:

To be honest with you, it is complicated for me as I am an electronics and communication engineer. I actually gave up :frowning: till I saw the PIXHAWK :smiley:

But, I still have some questions I hope you can answer:

1- I know your system is PID tunable. but there are other aspects that needs to be tuned for precise motion such as “moment of inertial” caused by all the installed gizmos.
Also, what if the installed gizmos on the quad-copter left it asymmetrical. Are these parameters configurable for precise control?

2- There is a point where I want the on-board camera takes control of the quad-copter motion. I mean, by using an image processing software, I want the camera to decide to go left/right, up/down, etc So, can I write this program on your controller and command the quad copter from it or I have to for example use the Raspberry PI then pass the command to your controller. Is it possible and is it easy ?!

Sorry for the long speech :slight_smile:
Best Regards,

You don’t actually need to use a stand-alone Pixhawk. The same code can run directly on the RasPi with this add-on board:

emlid.com/

Thank you very much for this tip. I actually didn’t know that at all.

Just still the main points :slight_smile:

Really, need your help :slight_smile:

Could you please, guide me to anyone in the development team that can answer this question?