Is there a way to get Smart Audio?

I have been looking back through older posts concerning Smart Audio functionality - or the lack of. I am wondering if anything as changed?

I have been using Ardupilot for a few years now, mainly copter. I am in the process of building my first proper plane, and i really want to stick with Ardupilot. But i really want to be able to have at least a very basic control over my vtx, really all i am interested in is switching the power levels. I really am not bothered about having the osd function, just being able to switch between 2 or 3 power levels via a switch on my Taranis would be more than enough. Does anyone know if this can be done? My vtx is tucked away in a bay on the underside of a wing, so not easy to get at to quickly change it manually before take off.

Any suggestions on how and if this could be achieved would be gratefully received. Thanks.

It would be possible to write a onboard lua script for this on master, lua access to serial ports has not made it to stable yet.

If I wanted to run a Lua script from the Simulator in Mission Planner, what directory would I place it in?

Nevermind, I found it I think. I created a scripts folder and put the sample script in it and no more ā€œno lua scrips to runā€ errors so itā€™s probably working.

1 Like

Thank you both. I have never used Lua scripts before, to be honest i would not have a clue how to compile one, or what it would need to include. I will do a bit of googling to learn about them and how to write and use them. And hopefully i will find some info on what needs to go into one for Smart Audio.
If i can get that far i will come back and ask for help on how i can use it with Ardupilot and Mission Planner. I am guessing i would have to use the command line interface?, that is something else i have not delved into before.

But thank you again for your replies, at least i have a direction to look to now. :slight_smile:

This is the scripting read-me