Iris pitching forward with GoPro on nose mount

Originally posted in DIY drones - I didn’t realize this is the correct place for official IRIS support.

I need a bit of help with an Iris problem. I’m new to the Pixhawk, but not new to R/C and drones in general. I was testing waypoints for the first time yesterday, with a short mission over a soccer field. I was piloting with the TX, while my wife was operating droid planner on my Samsung Note 10.1 2014.
After two successful runs in auto, and enough flying in stabilize and loiter to run the battery down, I switched to a fully charged pack. I also mounted my GoPro in it’s waterproof case on the front of the copter. I took off and flew around in stabilize for a minute or two with no issues.
I switched to auto and the Iris few fine. Upon hitting the last waypoint, the iris switched over to loiter mode. I wasn’t getting very much in terms of response from the sticks (which I expect in loiter), so I switched to stabilize.
The Iris then pitched violently nose down. I switched out of stabilize, and my wife i believe hit return to home. Droid Planner chose that moment to crash, so I attempted to switch things back to stabilize, but the drone again pitched violently nose down. Back to loiter and try to get it back. We weren’t making much headway, and at this point the Iris was drifting close to trees and houses.
With the drone not responding to my directional commands, I made the hard choice and switched to stabilize while chopping the throttle. The pitched nose forward then dropped, landing nose down on the GoPro.