Inverted Crash during First Autotune Cycle, APM 2.8

Hi all,

My name is Jeremy, and this is my first post. I am totally new to APM, GPS flight controllers, and to this forum. I would like to apologize for not having a genuine 3DR APM 2.6, and being that I have a clone 2.8 version I hope that this doesn’t mean I won’t be able to get help here. I honestly had no idea that 2.8 was not a genuine 3DR product when I purchased it. Forgive me.

I am hoping to get some help in understanding how to read logs and find a cause for my recent catastrophic crash. I can pull up the logs but it seems like some of what data would be useful either only has a dead flat line for the duration of the flight, or there isn’t data for that parameter. I’m hoping someone can make sense of my data file.

I’m trying to not be too devastated by this crash, as I have had my share of quadcopter and heli crashes, so I’ve come to expect these things and I’m just hoping to avoid whatever caused this one in the future. That being said, this one is more disappointing being that with the 4 successful flights I had prior to this crash, I hadn’t even gotten through a successful tuning period to even begin to see the capabilities of this flight controller before I’m in the process of rebuilding from a crash! Ugh…

Onto the crash.

(X525 Quadcopter with extended arms to 680mm with Sunnysky 2216 800kv and APC 12x45 props, Boscam VTX, eBay gimbal, and GoPro on board)