Indoor Altitude Control with Range Finder. Altitude and rangefinder do not agree (EDIT: Alt hold not following throttle)

Hi all,

I’m using a matek optical flow and rangefinder for indoor position hold. With the correct settings the flow hold appears to work in loiter, but the altitude hold behaves strangely. When trying to takeoff I must give full throttle. If I take off in stabilize and then switch to alt hold or loiter the copter will descend. The only way to make it maintain altitude is to hold full throttle. After some time in this configuration if I lower the throttle the copter will not descend until I switch back to stabilize.

Looking at the log it seems like the altitude in ahr2 follows the barometer even though I have set the EK3_SRC for altitude to be the range finder for 1, 2, and 3. I have a log from a flight where this happens here. Any input would be welcome.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pXGXa7VK9jmqscz-FOj291xZfqRKl40r/view?usp=sharing

Hi.
I am not an expert, so I don’t know what exactly to conclude from what I found in the logs. So maybe someone will be able to explain what is going on here by looking at the list of some of the things I noticed in the log file.

Here are the things that I found unfit:

1. Your vibrations are not good. Even Clip is reaching 400 in the middle of the flight. So maybe try to reduce the vibrations.
  2. Your Baro is giving a reading of about 2 meters, while the rangefinder is given a value of less than a meter. Also, the EKF3 estimator also closely agrees with the rangefinder. What was the actual altitude of this flight? I am guessing less than a meter, right? And if so, the prop wash might be the cause of the erroneous readings of barometer.
  3. One of your motors (motor 1) is not aligned properly with the other three, making it to run slower than the rest.