How to use the Mateksys H743-Wing V3 to control underwater thrusters using PWM signals in Mission Planner

Hello everyone,

I am really new to using flight controllers. I have been trying to figure out how to use my Mateksys H743-Wing V3 to control underwater thrusters in Mission Planner.

I am implementing a boat using a boogie board with 2 thrusters; I have a gps on the boat and would like to use Mission Planner to select coordinates on a map that the boat will move automatically to kind of like connect the dots. Here is a video demonstrating what I would like to do: (45) Autonomous Sailboat Simulation. Uses mission planner and SITL to simulate ardupilot sailboat. - YouTube

Here is a photo of the thrusters underneath the boogie board

Before doing that, here are my current goals:

1. Connect 2 thrusters to pwm pins on the Mateksys H743-Wing V3 flight controller.
  2. Use Mission Planner to program the Mateksys to control the thrusters.

I have connected the 2 thrusters’ pwm wires to the Mateksys inside an electrical box on the boat.

As of now, I’m not sure how to use Mission Planner to make the Mateksys control the thrusters. I know I need to make the flight controller send pwm signals to the thrusters, but how can I do that? Any suggestions is much appreciated.

You need ESC’s for the thrusters, the Flight Controller only outputs PWM control signals and can’t drive them directly. Pretty basic stuff here… The type of ESC you need depends on if they are brushed or brushless motors.
And, this is not a Mission Planner related question.

1 Like

Hi dkemxr,

The thrusters are brushless and have ESCs. Here are the motors for reference: TD1.2 12V Underwater Thruster Rov Thruster - HobbyWater.