How to use lua script output sensor value to get ground station

I am a beginner in computer programming, I have a sonar device, not in NMEA format, I have a device connected to SERIAL2, already TTL signal, baud rate 9600, A frame of the value that the sonar sends when it’s working is 31 31 2E 32 37 01 31 34 2E 37 30 08 41 6B 3E C0 41 34 59 20 94 and the preceding 31 31 2E 32 37 is a byte of ASC code 11.27 m, The ones in the middle are meaningless, and the 94 at the end is an accumulated sum. Can I use lua script to output some value to my ground station tag?

1 Like

This example should get you started:

serial_test.lua

You’ll need a parsing function that returns the range as a number to pass to the gcs:send_named_float() binding. I can possibly help with that, but it may take a few days to get to it.

it’s so kind of you !thank you very much!

Can you provide a datasheet for the sonar?

If not, can you elaborate on the expected serial traffic? Is the range value always 5 characters? Or is the range value always followed by 0x01?

yes it’s always 5 characters ,

It looks like it’s always suffixed by 0x01, which seems to be a better way to break it out of the frame than to count on it being 5 characters.

Also, what is the frame output rate? 1Hz (once per second)?

it’s 2HZ 2times per second

Ok, then this Arduino program should approximate sonar output for the purposes of my own testing without having the actual sonar hardware on hand.

#include <Arduino.h>

uint8_t get_checksum(char *c, size_t size) {
    uint8_t checksum = 0;
    for (size_t i = 0; i < size; i++) {
        checksum += c[i];
    }
    return checksum;
}

char buffer[] = {0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x01, 0x31,
                 0x34, 0x2E, 0x37, 0x30, 0x08, 0x41, 0x6B,
                 0x3E, 0xC0, 0x41, 0x34, 0x59, 0x20, 0x00};

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() {
    float range_val = (float)random(10000) / 100.0;
    sprintf(buffer, "%05.02f", range_val);
    buffer[5] = 0x01;