How to use Ardupilot on x86 Ubuntu (HAL_Linux)?

Hi to all,

I have no experience with Ardupilot and I would like to use it on my tracked robot which has an industrial Pc onboard running Ubuntu 18.04 with a i5 CPU. The computer is connected to a RTK Ublox GPS, Xsens IMu and encoders.

Is it possible to use ardupilot in my situation? I downloaded APM Planner and I can correctly run it on my system (I can see the map and I can set the waypoints) even if it asks me to connect to pixhawk but I don’t have that board.

Both the GPS and the IMU are connected via USB and I usually run the system under ROS.

Is there any chance to use Ardupilot on my system or do I need to purchase a Pixhawk board without using my onboard pc?

Thank you!

It does run on linux systems like the RaspberryPi, BeagleBone and others. So it should be possible.

https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-beagle-bone-blue.html

1 Like

Thank you for your answer and support!
I’ve read the link and if I am not wrong, it is possible to use beaglebone because there is an Ardupilot version developed for the bleaglebone, but I do not know if there is any version for Ubuntu on x86 architecture.

I tried to search on google, but I found nothing.

Moreover, how the motor commands are generated by Ardupilot?
I usually commands the robot motors with a ROS node.

It runs on Ubuntu linux on x86 architectures, but it will assume that you want a SITL, and not a real vehicle.
So you will need to figure out how to tell ArduCopter that it is on a vehicle. And you need to write your own device driver to talk to the motors.

1 Like

Thank you again for the support! It is not a problem to write a code to control the motors.
The main problem for me is how to feed the arducopter with the GPS data and how to read the controls generated by arducopter to make the motor move.