How to make an I2C driver for an angular position sensor

This post is a tutorial post on implementing an I2C driver. The post is a reply to @NicoMiguel10 's question asking how to create a driver for the AS5600 angular position sensor. I’ve included some resources I’ve found very helpful when building a similar driver, but I am by no means an expert – I’d appreciate any feedback or additional tips folks have. Hopefully this can hope other new developers find the resources they need!

Sensors like the AS5600 or AS5048B use the I2C serial protocol to communicate with the flight controller. If you aren’t familiar with interfacing with sensors via I2C, I recommend reading this brief and informative tutorial. The tutorial explains I2C basics such as reading from and writing to registers in order to get or set data on a connected device.

To read an angular sensor, your driver should:

• Create an AP_HAL::I2CDevice with the correct address. For the AS5600, this address is available in the datasheet on page 10. It is 0x36. Sometimes, this address can be changed with physical jumpers.
  • First set the zero position if necessary by writing 0x00 to the registers corresponding to the angle position.
  • Repeatedly read the angle from the registers corresponding to the angle position.