How to land a plane remotely incase of battery running low?

Hi all,

Yesterday i misjudged my battery and ran out of battery power 7 kms away from my launching point. I tried to land it in a safe park but as soon as plane went close to the ground, it lost RC signal and went into RTL with 100% throttle again.So my try to land in a remote park was unsuccessful and i had to just leave it to its fate. But with a pure chance of luck i found it resting on a tree branch without any damage after 1 day…

Is there any way to stop RTL getting activated on special cases? So please suggest how to do successful remote landings in case of emergency.Thanks.

There isn’t - at least nothing trivial - but you could potentially have
used disarm-on-a-switch to avoid the thing climbing away ('though it would
have attempted to change course and glided around on a heading towards
home in this case)

I’m just a beginner user so apologies if completely wrong, but cant you use AFS_WP_COMMS, and have the waypoint be a Land point?

1 Like

Thanks Peter.

So can I disarm my plane via switch even if the plane is moving and flying?

Yep! Aircraft have been lost by accidentaly switching - some people use
physical protection, some people use fancy transmitter programming to
require two switch movements for the channel to be asserted.

1 Like

Okay.Good to know.

Now one more question arises.Can the plane be armed again immediately if it was disarmed accidentally midflight? Thanks.

Probably should be able to; in practise some prearm check usually pops up
so you’ve got a glider.

Disarming your vehicle in-flight isn’t recommended practise - thus my
points in py previous email as to avoiding doing it by accident.

Thanks Peter.

Can i request for a new smarter feature request where arduplane handles this particular situation like i faced but Arduplane handles it better way and where you don’t have to assign a switch to disarm?

I don’t think there is a better fix here; the Plane doesn’t know your