How to control with PS4 controller?

Hi all,

I am new to all things drones, especially autonomous. I am building a autonomous boat for sidescan sonar survey and am using Pixhawk flight controller. I have configured the power source, compass/gps, accelerator, but not the radio. I do not have a transmitter or receiver, but I have a PlayStation 4 controller that tethers via Bluetooth to laptop, then laptop talks via telemetry modules to Pixhawk. My GCS is Mission Planner.

Under Config/Tuning -> Planner -> Joystick I have set right trigger to throttle (RC input channel 3) and left joystick to roll (RC input channel 1). Under Initial Setup -> Servo Output, I changed pin 1 from GroundSteering to RCIN1 and I changed pin 3 from throttle to RCIN3.

Everything works fine in Manual mode, the servo for steering moves the angle of the thruster, and the throttle increases the motor speed, but when I change to Auto mode, nothing happens. I suspect that the reason for this is because I changed the servo output channels to map with my joystick inputs, and when I switch to Auto Pixhawk does not give any commands for GroundSteering and Throttle anymore.

Is my suspicion correct? Is it possible to map and RC input to GroundSteering and then map a Servo Output to GroundSteering?

I know Mission Planner can run Auto missions without a transmitter/receiver, so I tried disabling the PS4 controller, remapping the servo out pins from RCIN1 and RCIN3 to GroundSteering and Throttle, but Auto mode still did not work.

Hope you all can help. Thanks.

Robert

Robert,

It’s important to follow the instructions on this wiki page when setting up the servo outputs. If this isn’t done then the autonomous modes can’t work because the throttle and steering controllers don’t know where they should send their output.

Can you give this a try?

rmackay9,