How to connect a water pump to the drone

Hi am making my first drone using Pixhawk 2.4.8 and I want to add a water pump which I will control from a switch of the transmitter. I was thinking of having a relay connected to an AUX output of the Pixhawk and also connected to the pump . Is this a good idea ?Should I also use a diode to prevent back EMF from the pump ?

Probably these DC pumps will be heavy and add lots of complexity… have you ever considered using a BLDC pump with a ESC? This way it should be pretty straightforward to setup following these instructions:

https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/sprayer.html

2 Likes

Thanks a lot for your reply I am a completly beginner and I dont know a lot about electronics. I bought a this bldc motor: 12V DC Brushless Water Pump Ultra-quiet 240L/H - Submersible Water Pump (AD20P-1230C)
but it only has 2 wires how I will connect it with an esc?
Thanks again !!

It appears the pump you’ve bought is just a regular pump but with a brushless motor.
So not really designed to connect to an ESC. - Just simply on/off.

2 Likes

You will need a relay with that pump. If you go that route get an opto-isolated one with a 3V coil. What’s the purpose of the pump?

2 Likes

Thank you a lot !! It’s for my thesis project I have to make an agriculture drone which will spray pesticides

1 Like

I see ,thanks for your reply !!

OK, but as @Karl_Schoelpple said it will just be on/off. Spray functions in Arducopter can be a lot more sophisticated with the right hardware. But perhaps you don’t need that?

2 Likes

Yes I need something simple just to on/off the pump. Do you know if its possible to do it with a 5v opto isolated relay because in my country I can’t find one with 3v ?or perhaps another way ?

Relay outputs from that Flight Controller are 3.3Vdc, a 5V coil won’t work. An alternative would be a PWM switch/relay.

Here is one example:PWM Switch

2 Likes

Thank you very much @dkemxr !! I will try it !!

1 Like