How to connect a Walkera G-2D Gimbal to the Pixhawk

I’ve been reading through the Gimbal sections on the Wiki and searching everywhere trying to find any help to attach and control a Walkera G-2D Brushless Gimbal to the Pixhawk controller.

I can’t see find anything about it. Let me first say that I am new to this so my experience is minimal. This is my first custom drone project.

I am in the process of building a new rig with a Tarot 680 Pro, DJI E600 motor system and the Pixhawk controller. I have a Walkera G-2D Gimbal that I would like to use.

Has anyone already attached this Gimbal to a Pixhawk?
Any wiring diagrams I can use?

The G-2D controller has a power input and three controller pins for Pit / Roll / AUX, but there is no Ground connector on the control pins.

Heres a link to the limited manual showing the wiring and connectors. (img.banggood.com/images/upload/2 … Manual.pdf)

The diagram in the Wiki (copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/common-tarot-gimbal/) shows using the AUX 1 port S and GND pins. Im assuming the S pin connects to the pitch pin on the Walkera G-2D controller, but where would I connect the GND pin?

Any help appreciated.

Great question. I haven’t seen the G-2D tied to any controller successfully except through the Devo Radio AND Walkera software. I have the gimbal working very well in standalone mode. I’ve tried it through the Taranis radio without success ( only minimal pitch control).

I’m staying tuned and hope someone chimes in with insight.

[quote=“SimonNWalker”]I’ve been reading through the Gimbal sections on the Wiki and searching everywhere trying to find any help to attach and control a Walkera G-2D Brushless Gimbal to the Pixhawk controller.

I can’t see find anything about it. Let me first say that I am new to this so my experience is minimal. This is my first custom drone project.