How long does the setup and tuning process usually take?

Hi! I have flown some drones before, but I am new to ArduPilot / ArduCopter.
While I am waiting for all the parts to arrive (mainly my Qio-Tek Zealot H743 flight controller), I am planning the next steps on creating my drone, setting it up, … I want / have to get the drone up and running as soon as possible.

Only speaking about the software setup (install Mission Planner, flash ArduCopter, initialize gps, accel, gyro, tune drone, setup receiver, …): What would be your estimate - from your experiences - on how long the setup takes?

From the documentation and videos I get the impression, that the setup (everything but tuning the drone), as well as the tuning should each take about a day. What do you think / What are your experiences?

Thanks!

It will always depends on the level of complexity that your drone has (like additional sensors for instance). For a very basic setup, I would say one entire day of work, specialy considering you are new to this… don’t make it a rush and remember to carefuly read all first flight setup docs before trying a real flight.

It all depends also… tuning is not a very straight-forward process… it can involve some initial debugs and try-and-error procedures (like reducing vibration levels, motors imbalance, compass/motor calibration, notch filter tuning etc). It also depends on what you consider your tuning as really good, there is always margin for improvements, specially if you start to play with new features along your UAV lifecycle.

I hope this can help you!

3 Likes

Yes, that really helps. Thank you very much!

I am trying to prepare everything (hardware & software) and read all the important documentation before my flight controller finally arrives. I don’t want to waste any time and start getting my drone safely in the air as soon as possible.

1 Like

You’re welcome!

Let us know if you face any kind of trouble.