Help creating LUA script

Hey, so this is my first post here. I have been building RC for a couple of years now but new to Pixhawk. I have not done very much programming and none in LUA. Reading the documentation confuses me, but I only want to make a simple script that will turn on a neopixel LED ring on a drone I am using, like a floodlight, just by flipping a switch. How would I go about writing a script to do that? Any help would be appreciated.

The Ardupilot github repo has some examples for implementing a few basic functionalities using LUA scripting. Here is the link to the examples directory:

It has a few examples related to LEDs as well.
Hope it helps.

Thank you. So I looked through and tried a few of the scripts. I can’t seem to get the LEDs to turn on. I made a loop that outputs the channel that I have set to 94 like in the LED example but the LEDS are not turning on at all. I have attached a few photos of the LED ring and the wiring. I have no idea what could be wrong. Does the ring not work? Any help is appreciated.

led_test.lua (714 Bytes)

Screenshot 2023-10-07 141104

Most likely a wiring problem. The servo rail is an unpowered bus, and you must supply voltage from a BEC on any unused + pin.

Like using one of the power cables plugged into one of the open ports on the Pixhawk?

Maybe. Those pixels are probably 5V. Assuming that’s correct, you need a 5V source with enough current capacity to light the whole string. Ensure it has a common ground with the signal path.

Okay, so some weird stuff is happening now. I plugged 5V into it and nothing happened. But when I switch the channel to Neopixel instead of Script 1 one of the twelve LEDs blinks. This confuses me.

I deleted all of my scripts and just tested the LED Roll from the examples and the same thing, only 1 LED is working, but now when script 1 is used.

okay, now I got the ring to work, but only 1 LED turns on. I used the example LED_roll from Git with the same issue.

Hello @Taylor,