Gremlins! Rover ESC chirping and wires to battery heating up and "jumping" when armed

Hello! Total newbie to the Ardupilot space here.

I have built a rover using a Traxxas slash 4x4 and a Pixhawk 2.4.8 kit that I bought off aliexpress. my goal was to convert my existing remote control car into a rover for a school project. I have got it working and completing waypoint missions, but I am having some very strange hardware issues when I arm the vehicle.

My Traxxas slash is using the VXL-3S ESC that came with it. I have a 6ch FLYSKY receiver connected to a PPM encoder, which is then connected to the Pixhawk. When I arm the motor via Ardupilot and use the safety switch, my ESC goes haywire. The wires connecting the ESC to the battery get very hot (which is concerning, they are 12G wires) and they jump up and down like they are trying to pull themselves out of the ESC. When they “jump” the ESC makes a chirping noise. I have tested the ESC without the Pixhawk and PPM encoder, and everything works fine. The issue seems to be intermittent, the first time it happened it melted away what I believe to be a fuse on my power delivery cable (see pic)

I then ran the rover without this cable, supplying the Pixhawk with power only via the ESC’s PWM connection, which is not advised, but worked until the other day when I started noticing the gremlins. I re soldered the broken part of my power supply and tried again, but the chirping/jumping/hot wires continued, however, the chirping was much quieter.

My current plan for troubleshooting is to try a different ESC and see what happens, maybe traxxas “intelligence” is causing issues?

Any help diagnosing this would be appreciated, Thank you in advance

Feel free to ask for any other info, I have not checked logs yet…