Great Shark - EKF Error and Control Issues

Hi All,

I am pretty new to these discussion forums but hopefully I will get the info needed across the right way.

We purchased a RTF Great Shark 330 from Foxtech. We didn’t have them put in a telemetry radio or VTX equipment as we were concerned about FCC compliance issues. We have since installed the telemetry radio. All of the wiring and parameters were done by them. They test flew it and then sent it to us.

We took this out to conduct a hover test before moving on to flight tests. This is were we ran into issues.

Flight one was a short one in QHOVER. The Shark seemed to hold altitude and horizon just fine but drifted back at a steady clip. We chalked this up to wind (5-8mph) and landed it.

Flight two was in QLOITER. We wanted it to hold station where it was for us. Everything was good to go and we took off. This time the plane pitched forward and started going out away from us. When attempting to correct the controls were difficult to maintain and we were able to land it eventually with no damage.

As a RTF VTOL from Foxtech we did not expect this. Looking back we are thinking of the following things as potential issues.

1. While we are competent quadcopter pilots our VTOL experience is minimum.
  2. The CG may have shifted. This may explain the wide variance in stick needed. One way needed full stick to make minor correctios and the opposite way needed minor stick to make major correction.
  3. There was a “DCM Yaw Inconsistent by 41 degrees” error that happened prior to one flight. The compass had been calibrated and after a reboot this went away.
  4. During motor throttle up and during flight there was an EKF error (with the compass). During ground tests where the throttle was used (without propellers) feedback noise was heard and the EKF for compass went to orange. Once the motors reached full throttle it went back to green.