GPS data improved accuracy based on Data Reconciliation: an mathematical optimization approach

Hello Ardupilot Developers Community.

I am a chemical engineer that recently has been involved with drone activity. In the last few days I have been thinking of GPS accuracy and how it could be possibly improved without investing on RTK.

A short introduction on my professional background as chemical engineer. During years, I dealt with chemical process imbalances, which is the impossibility to close mass (also energy) balances using process data (flow meters, barometers, pressure, temperature, compounds compositions etc),due to sensor random and gross errors.

One technique to minimize these errors is named Data Reconciliation. It is basically an optimization problem taking into account an objective function that aims to minimize the differences between measured sensors values and corrected values (reconciled ones). The second one, in theory, closer to the “real” value. All that driven from the optimization math point of view, constrained by first principles equation, in this particular case, mass and energy balances, to mention the two main equations in process engineering.

I did a quick search on the web and found nothing similarly related for GPS and data reconciliation optimization problem. Thus, I decided to put that on paper and check if there is any mathematical similarity. I think there is! Totally not sure if it is of some meaning and help. But let me explain a bit better.