Full camera control - is it even possible?

Hello everyone,

I have some experience with both ardupilot and DJI drones, DJI drones with DJI cameras and other cameras etc. From my experience, DJI integration of DJI cameras and drones made imaging relatively easy task, however, cameras that DJI has maybe are not the best cameras that can be used for e.g. mapping.

For that reason, we have a few Sony A7RI/II cameras. Those cameras are full-frame mirrorless cameras that on the paper - should have really high-quality images. In practice, unfortunately, I struggle to get the same quality as with DJI cameras with the drone.

The book says that during mapping missions most parameters of the camera have to be manually set on the fixed value and not change during the mission. This makes it hard for me since I have a lens (samyang 24mm AF) with electronic manual focus and focus ring does not have a full stop, and when it is turned to the furthest point, objects in the infinity actually become less sharp. Anyways, it is very hard to adjust focus on the ground and have sharp, crisp images from the air. I get unsatisfactory results from imaging missions using this approach more that I would like to admit, and it is a bit frustrating.

This issue is nonexistent with the DJI cameras and drones because seamless integration allows for e.g. flying to the planned flight distance and spending a minute to tweak a camera, set the ISO, shutter speed, manual focus etc.

I know it can not be expected to have this possibility with every consumer camera that is out there but I have to admit that it makes a job far easier.

First, I would like to know your workflow when conducting mapping missions. Camera settings, fixed and free parameters etc.